Smart Hybrid – the intelligent grid solution

Nationwide secure and comprehensive power supply is becoming increasingly important worldwide – especially under economic and ecological aspects. Numerous diesel generated off-grid systems supply remote villages or industrial facilities with power. This harbours an enormous development potential for the use of so-called “Smart Grids”.

Existing off-grid systems could easily become “intelligent” grids, combining different types of power generation units to their availability. An expansion using renewable energy systems needs to be contemplated, whereas its use requires an availability analysis.

ABZ Aggregate-Bau GmbH & Co. KG in collaboration with the University of Applied Sciences Hamburg (HAW Hamburg) focussed on a scientific work to demonstrate potential opportunities. In addition, simulation tools were developed for a global analysis of such smart grids. Different energy sources are combined with each other in the process and combined with their economic and ecological advantages (possible combination: see diagram).

ABZ

HYbrid

Due to the convincing advantages of a smart grid a test field has been set up to carry out further investigations. It was particularly important for the ABZ technicians not only to realise a so called mild hybrid system, but also to implement fully-fledged hybrid systems. Since spring 2017 different scenarios are being tested involving grid architecture, economy of the combinations and productivity depending on the weather. This guarantees that a system is tailored as precisely as possible to the requirements.

The difference lies in the grid architecture of the two systems. The mild hybrid system transfers the formation of a grid to a stable power generation system that continuously must be held active in the grid. The regenerative systems are passively implemented in the grid to reduce grid consumption. In this case it is essential to regulate the base load.

The full-scale hybrid system allows a completely emission-free operation without using generators. This enables further resource savings and noise emissions during low load phases (e.g. at night). The generator units become passive members of the smart grid without network instability.

In addition the internal test runs showed, that even small capacity systems which have been discarded before as being seemingly too small, too expensive or inefficient, to certain consumers can be a sensible alternative. Even in the view of unfavourable weather conditions it is worthwhile to take a closer look.

Result of the analyses:

„Calculations carried out have revealed enormous benefits associated with hybrid systems compared to energy generation from purely fossil sources. Further studies to address the resulting grid stabilities can be built on the findings of the thesis.“1

1 Hybrid Offgrid Power Generation (2016), N. Beckmann, S. 142
Text: N. Beckmann, S. Krämer

Contact

ABZ Aggregate-Bau GmbH & Co. KG
Gutenbergstraße 11
D-24558 Henstedt-Ulzburg

​+49 (0) 4193 / 90 36-0
+49 (0) 4193 / 93 47 3

info(at)abz-power(dot)com

Links

ABZ_40_Jahr_Logo.png

Smart Hybrid – die intelligente Netzlösung

Eine flächendeckende Stromversorgung rückt weltweit immer stärker in den Fokus der Gesellschaft – insbesondere unter ökonomischen und ökologischen Aspekten. Zur Stromversorgung abgelegener Dörfer oder Industrieanlagen werden zahlreiche Inselnetzsysteme über Diesel-Aggregate betrieben. Diese bergen ein enormes Entwicklungspotential für den Einsatz sogenannter „Smart Grids“.

Vorhandene Inselnetze könnten zu „intelligenten“ Netzen umfunktioniert werden, die verschiedene Energieerzeugungseinheiten je nach ihrer Verfügbarkeit kombinieren. Hier ist eine Erweiterung durch regenerative Energiequellen zu betrachten, deren Einsatz jedoch eine Verfügbarkeitsanalyse erfordert.

ABZ Aggregate-Bau hat in Zusammenarbeit mit der University of Applied Science Hamburg (HAW-Hamburg) im Rahmen einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit die Potentiale aufgezeigt. Weiterführend wurden Simulationswerkzeuge für eine weltweite Analyse solcher Smart Grids entwickelt. Dabei werden unterschiedliche Energiequellen miteinander kombiniert und auf ihre ökonomischen und ökologischen Vorteile hin überprüft (mögliche Kombination: s. Grafik weiter unten).

Aufgrund der überzeugenden Vorteile eines intelligenten Inselnetzes wurde ein Testfeld für eine weitere Untersuchung aufgebaut. Dabei war es den Technikern von ABZ wichtig, nicht nur ein Mild-Hybridsystem, sondern auch vollwertige Hybridsysteme zu realisieren. Seit 2017 werden verschiedene Szenarien zu Netzbildung, Kombinationsökonomie und Produktivität in Wetterabhängigkeit ausführlich getestet. Auf diese Weise kann eine möglichst exakte Anpassung der Anlage an die Anforderungen gewährleistet werden.

Der Unterschied liegt in der Netzbildung der beiden Systeme. Das Mild-Hybridsystem transferiert die Netzbildung auf stabile Energieerzeugungsanlagen (Generatoren), die immer aktiv im Netz gehalten werden müssen. Die regenerativen Quellen werden passiv zur Verbrauchssenkung ins Netz implementiert, wobei zwingend eine Regelung der Grundlast erfolgen muss.

Das vollwertige Hybridsystem erlaubt einen komplett emissionsfreien Betrieb ohne Generatoren. Somit sind weitere Ressourceneinsparungen möglich und Lärmemissionen in Schwachlastphasen (z. B. nachts) können verhindert werden. Die Generatoren werden zum passiven Mitglied des Smart Grids, ohne dass es zu einer Netzinstabilität kommt.

Darüber hinaus ergaben die Testläufe, dass selbst Anlagen mit kleiner Leistung, die unter Umständen als zu klein/teuer/ineffizient verworfen würden, bestimmten Verbrauchern eine sinnvolle Alternative bieten. Selbst bei als ungünstig eingestuften Wetterbedingungen ist eine genauere Betrachtung durchaus lohnenswert.

Ergebnis der Analysen:

„Bei den durchgeführten Berechnungen sind die enormen Vorteile hybrider Systeme gegenüber einer rein fossilen Energiebereitstellung aufgedeckt worden. Weitere Untersuchungen zu den resultierenden Netzstabilitäten können auf die Erkenntnisse der Thesis aufgebaut werden.“1

1 Hybrid Offgrid Power Generation (2016), N. Beckmann, S. 142
Text: N. Beckmann, S. Krämer

Kontakt

ABZ Aggregate-Bau GmbH & Co. KG
Gutenbergstraße 11
D-24558 Henstedt-Ulzburg

​+49 (0) 4193 / 90 36-0
+49 (0) 4193 / 93 47 3

info(at)abz-power(dot)com

Links

ABZ_40_Jahr_Logo.png